Reiteration
Cherry wood, root, Wingé wood, concrete, clay, paint - 2021

The botanist Francis Hallé has updated an architecture of trees which allows us to establish two types of structures and modes of operation; On the one hand the unitaries with a single architecture in simple form and on the other the "colonials" which are repeated in abundance thanks to a rejection which forms on the trunk or branch and whose roots are embedded under the bark. and very quickly reach the ground.

  This work shows the phenomenon of reiteration of the tree which, "metamerized" (the body is made up of a set of unit parts, leaves and roots) can be  (re) train indefinitely from the basic module and survive independently of any vital organs. The dead tree, a cherry tree,  is here taken from a clay sarcophagus made of casts of the trunk. These elements presented independently constitute a kind of genetic or memory imprint of its terrestrial envelope. The tree seems to be resuscitated by the spontaneous emergence of the main body, cubic modules in Wenge wood, minimal units of many human constructions. These hollowed-out volumes extract themselves from the fixity in which the tree is immersed to breathe a second breath of life into it. Their architectural forms echo human activity and its hold on nature. Fine engravings inscribed in the ends of the stump representing shapes in perspective reinforce this idea. This lifeless, uprooted body  appears mummified in a concrete plaster, revealing the initial shapes constituting the very identity of this plant specimen. This new skin in the  protecting it from degradation cuts it off from any terrestrial temporality,  to inscribe it in eternity. The tree enters the world of the divine. Spiritual elevation is evoked by petrified roots and escaping volumes  of the initial sculpture.

The tree, if we pay attention to it, reveals a lot of ourselves and imposes itself as a subject in itself that goes beyond the simple object of representation. Its mode of operation is in itself a functioning of creation. The tree alive, is a distinguished artist who goes beyond human experience and if there is nothing purely human in a tree, there is a tree in all human life. From the most primitive habitat, to our furniture, our utensils, to the oxygen we breathe, everything originates in the tree. To work from a dead stump is to reveal this body which during its life has never ceased to tame death by being itself at maturity made up of dead tissue which, far from annihilating it, gives it strength and structure.

"  We are not only accompanied by them, they take care of us and shape us. Their body is with us and in us, in the most unexpected forms… /… we live through his body and thanks to his body »» E.Coccia

  • Facebook

Réitération
Bois de cerisier, racine, bois Wingé, béton, argile, peinture - 2021

Le botaniste Francis Hallé a mis à jour une architecture des arbres qui nous permet d’établir deux types structures et modes de fonctionnement; D’un côté les unitaires avec une seule architecture en forme simple et de l’autre les « coloniaires » qui se réitèrent en abondance grâce à un rejet qui se forme sur le tronc ou branche et dont les racines s’encrent sous l’écorce et atteignent très vite le sol.

 Cette oeuvre montre le phénomène de réitération de l’arbre qui , « métamérisé » ( le corps est constitué d’un ensemble de parties unitaires, feuillage et racines) peut se  (re)former indéfiniment à partir du module de base et survivre indépendamment de tout organes vitaux. L’arbre mort , un cerisier,  est ici extrait d’un sarcophage d’argile fait de moulages du tronc . Ces éléments présentés indépendamment constituent une sorte d’emprunte génétique ou mémoriel de son enveloppe terrestre. L’arbre semble ressusciter par le surgissement spontané du corps principal, de modules cubiques en bois Wengé , unités minimales de nombreuses constructions humaines . Ces volumes évidés s’extraient de la fixité dans laquelle est plongé l’arbre pour lui insuffler un second souffle de vie . Leurs formes architecturales font échos à l’activité humaine et son emprise sur la nature . De fines gravures inscrites dans les extrémités de la souche représentant des formes en perspective viennent renforcer cette idée . Ce corps sans vie , déraciné ,  se présente momifié dans un enduit de béton, laissant apparaitre les formes initiales constituant l’identité même de ce spécimen végétal. Cette nouvelle peau en le  protégeant de la dégradation le coupe de toute temporalité terrestre,  pour l’inscrire dans l’éternité. L’arbre rentre dans le monde du divin. L’élévation spirituelle est évoquée par des racines pétrifiées et volumes s’échappant  de la sculpture initiale.

L’arbre si on lui prête attention nous révèle beaucoup de nous même et s’impose comme un sujet en soi qui va au delà du simple objet de représentation . Son mode opératoire est à lui seul un fonctionnement de création. L’arbre ce vivant , est un artiste émérite qui va au delà de l’expérience humaine et s’il n’y a rien de purement humain dans un arbre, il y a de l’arbre dans toute vie humaine. De l’habitat le plus primitif, à notre mobilier, nos ustensiles, à l’oxygène que l’on respire tout prend source dans l’arbre. Travailler à partir d’une souche morte c’est révéler ce corps qui durant sa vie n’a cessé d’apprivoiser la mort en étant lui même à maturité constitué de tissus mort qui loin de l’anéantir lui donne force et structure.

«  Nous ne sommes pas seulement accompagnés par eux, ils prennent soin de nous et nous façonnent. Leur corps est avec nous et en nous, sous des formes les plus inattendues …/… nous vivons par son corps et grâce à son corps » » E.Coccia

  • Facebook