EX  SISTERE, 

strand 1 # stand outside

Part 2 # expose oneself to exist

 

St Emilion and Bordeaux contemporary art route

May / June 2019

 

 

The question of finitude and sufficiency constantly haunts human beings. Talking about crossing a border comes down to talking about oneself about each person's capacity to go beyond their being in order to experience their own finitude and become aware of their insufficiency.

From a pragmatic point of view in the age of globalization, the free movement of goods, people, information and financial exchanges, we always come up against problems of territorial limits, very real borders and difficult to cross, in a world that is however voluntarily open ... at least virtually.

The dramatic news of migrants from countries at war for the majority is proof of this.

Borders, seas, barriers, walls,  barbed wire, camps, watchtowers, punctuate the journey of these "fleeing" who brave poverty and death, tear themselves away from their native land in the grip of violence to reach more lenient spaces. A thousand cables from the hospitable promises of a globalized and unified world amplified by the web, their migration turns into an obstacle course constrained by the convulsions of the world. This world which for half a century has been trying to push back borders, especially in Europe,  by trying to establish a semblance of what Sylvain Tesson would call "the political theory of the bocage" inspired by the genius of the hedge of the past which "separated without walling up, delimited without opacifying, protected without pushing back". An intelligent world borrowed from benevolent humanity and universality.

The politician is building walls again and placing "watchtowers" supposed to defend us from the "invasion" of migrants, turning ordinary men on the run into bloodthirsty barbarians. Instead of taking advantage of this interbreeding by confronting the here and there, the local and the universal, learned and popular experiences, the stories of each other, their roots and their upheavals, we erect the other as the enemy to be defeated. Our territories under high security are trying to become  fortresses with guarded posts on the lookout for the supposed enemy. A real obsolete throwback to the contemporary globalized world turned towards openness and exchange.  

Despite everything, these new limits, walls or other enclosures, are erected in vain because they are imbued with permeability and porosity. The migratory flow is  inevitable. From the moment when man feels threatened he moves as moved by the preservation of the species, a determining factor of permanent development for humanity.

Humanity is thus caught in a perpetual movement punctuated by displacement and ephemeral fixity. Suspended time perceived as  transitory spaces where everyone is aware of being in the world, of finding this primitive habitat that of our early childhood, a bubble of intimacy. Setting boundaries is certainly a deep need for man to have his home; it is to draw contours, to give shape and face to a territory, to a concrete and visible reality, it is to oppose the infinite, the indefinite, the elusive, what is formless, the 'informed. But to exist is to expose oneself, to get out of oneself and to go beyond borders. Human life is caught in this duality between staying safe, and leaving, walking, breaking boundaries. A necessary coming and going where the border fulfills its role when it is neither concrete nor liquefied, but borrows from a balance between adventure and security according to the philosopher Olivier Abel.

Karinka Szabo - Detchart.

E X   S I S T E R E , 

volet 1# se tenir en dehors

Volet 2# s’exposer pour exister

 

Parcours artistique d'art contemporain St Émilion et Bordeaux

Mai / juin 2019

 

 

La question de la finitude et de la suffisance hante en permanence l’être humain. Parler de dépassement de frontière revient à parler de soi de la capacité de chacun à aller au delà de son être pour expérimenter sa propre finitude et prendre conscience de son insuffisance.

D’un point de vue pragmatique à l’heure de la mondialisation, de la libre circulation des biens, des personnes, de l’information et échanges financiers, nous nous heurtons toujours à des problèmes de limites de territoires, de frontières bien réelles et difficilement franchissables, dans un monde pourtant volontairement ouvert… du moins virtuellement.

L’actualité dramatique des migrants venus de pays, en guerre pour la majorité, en est la preuve.

Frontières, mers, barrières, murs,  barbelés, camps, miradors, jalonnent le périple de ces « fuyants » qui bravant la misère et la mort, s’arrachent à leur terre natale en proie à la violence pour rejoindre des espaces plus cléments.. A mille encablures des promesses hospitalières d’un monde globalisé et unifié amplifié par le web, leur migration se mue en parcours du combattant contraint par les convulsions du monde. Ce monde qui depuis un demi siècle tente de repousser les frontières, notamment en Europe,  en essayant d’instaurer un semblant de ce que Sylvain Tesson appellerait « la théorie politique du bocage » inspiré du génie de la haie d'autrefois qui « séparait sans emmurer, délimitait sans opacifier, protégeait sans repousser ». Un monde intelligent emprunt d’humanité bienveillante et d’universalité.

L’homme politique bâtît à nouveau des murs et placent des « miradors» censés nous défendre de « l’invasion » de migrants, transformant de simples hommes en fuite en barbares sanguinaires. Au lieu de tirer parti de ce métissage en confrontant l’ici et l’ailleurs, le local et l’universel, les expériences savantes et populaires, les histoires des uns et des autres, leurs enracinements et leurs bouleversements , on érige autrui comme l’ennemi à abattre. Nos territoires sous haute sécurité tentent de redevenir  des forteresses avec postes gardés à l’affut du prétendu ennemi. Un véritable retour en arrière obsolète face au monde contemporain globalisé tourné vers l’ouverture et l’échange. 

Malgré tout, ces nouvelles limites, murs ou autres enceintes, s’érigent vainement car empruntes de perméabilité et de porosité . Le flux migratoire est  inéluctable. Du moment ou l’homme se sent menacé il se déplace comme mué par la préservation de l’espèce , facteur déterminant de développement permanent pour l’humanité.

L’humanité est ainsi prise dans un mouvement perpétuel ponctué de déplacement et de fixité éphémère. Temps suspendus perçus comme  espaces transitoires où chacun à conscience d’être au monde ,de retrouver cet habitat primitif celui de notre prime enfance, une bulle d’intimité.Poser des frontières c’est certes un besoin profond pour l’homme d’avoir son chez soi; c’est dessiner des contours, donner forme et visage à un territoire, à une réalité concrète et visible , c’est s’opposer à l’infini , à l’indéfini, l’insaisissable, à ce qui est sans forme, l’informe. Mais exister c’est s’exposer, sortir de soi et dépasser les frontières. La vie humaine est prise dans cette dualité entre rester en sécurité, et partir, marcher, transgresser les limites. Un va et vient nécessaire où la frontière remplirait son rôle lorsqu’elle n’est ni bétonnée, ni liquéfiée, mais emprunte d’un équilibre entre aventure et sécurité selon le philosophe Olivier Abel.

Karinka Szabo - Detchart.

copyright © Karinka Szabo-Detchart tous droits réservés 2020