SPACE   OTHER
Meeting - Metavilla Gallery January 6, 2022

“The landscape is a phenomenon of spatialization of a singular story. In this space all the scales of past time are spatially manifested in the present, from the most remote geological past to the most current events.

Ecumene Ethics, Augustin Berque.

Evoking landscape today means talking about individual perceptions, collective representations, nature, societies, aesthetic contemplation, mastery of territory, psychology and politics.

To study the landscape is to show a certain sense of observation to draw a better representation or representativeness.
Each of us make and unmake landscapes.
In any landscape there are several semantic layers that overlap and that artists know how to bring out: the origin and the deep identity of things. The artists make it possible to bring up these archaic images, those of the childhood of man or of humanity. The landscape before being an aesthetic reality is first of all a human construction, a shared reality.

It is this shared reality that has contributed to the development in my practice of in situ work designed for a specific place such as a landscape or a garden. It is a question of developing a dialogue, new, unexpected connections by working on the history of the chosen environment, the users of the place, the inhabitants and the visitors by a sensitive and open proposal which no longer stands as an imposed element, placed there but a proposal, an invitation or a sharing.

The work in situ, installation or environment, if it only lives, above all, by and for the space in which it is contained, can nevertheless have its own existence and become "exportable" elsewhere to a "non-site" such as Robert Smithson defined it. One does not preclude the other and does not detract from the specificity of the proposal. When instead, the space landscaped by man whether vast or infinite, or limited and closed, it offers the same possibilities for the artist who knows how to bring up from the depths the traces of memory, the personal history and the common history in an unpublished work addressed to all. Abolish borders, eliminate imposed limits, free ourselves from the rules that govern private space to offer everyone a completely different vision of the world that is both more intimate and more common to all.

The garden of all origins is intended above all to be an enclosed space, or at least a circumscribed one, in which the hand of man brings together the natural world, even the wild and civilisation. In an urban environment, this assertion is even more true because by bringing nature into a cultural space far from the rural world, man orchestrates an unexpected or even improbable encounter.

Through the course of the gardens, the landscaped space is invested in a different and singular way.
Usually hermetic to everything that is outside, the space of the garden open on the one hand to the artist, on the other
  to a wider audience, is transformed into an "other space", totally or partially different, a kind of heterotopia which Michel Foucault would call "absolutely different" whether they are initiatory, transgressive or stimulating. A different space which we seize, with the possibility of an appropriation, certainly never definitive, because specific to each one, but evolutionary and declinable as far as the imagination and sensitivity can go. To appropriate here is not to be understood in the sense of possessing definitively but temporarily in space time to perhaps keep it in memory in a permanent way. A treasure in which one can draw to reactivate sensations, primitive reminiscences which each human being secretly keeps within him; the desire to have a place that takes on such meaning by me and for me, it is thus to inhabit it in the manner of a resident who is passing through and can revisit what he inhabits. By decompartmentalizing the private space from the public space and by proposing an in situ work, the artist makes possible what cannot be elsewhere, brings together realities that are sometimes incompatible or have completely different meanings, and gives the possibility to think otherwise.

Karinka Szabo-Detchart

E S P A C E    A U T R E
Rencontre - Galerie Métavilla 6 Janvier 2022

« Le paysage est un phénomène de mise en espace d’une histoire singulière. Dans cet espace toutes les échelles du temps passé se manifestent spatialement au présent, du passé géologique le plus reculé aux évènement les plus actuels »

Ethique de l’écoumène,Augustin Berque.

Évoquer le paysage aujourd’hui c’est parler de perceptions individuelles, de représentations collectives, de nature, de sociétés, de contemplation esthétique, de maîtrise du territoire, de psychologie et de politique.

Étudier le paysage c’est faire preuve d’un certain sens de l’observation pour en tirer une meilleure représentation ou représentativité.
Chacun d’entre nous faisons et défaisons les paysages.
Dans tout paysage il y a plusieurs couches sémantiques qui se superposent et que les artistes savent faire ressurgir : l’origine et l’identité profonde des choses. Les artistes permettent de faire remonter ces images archaïques , celles de l’enfance de l’homme ou de l’humanité.Le paysage avant d’être une réalité esthétique est d’abord une construction humaine, une réalité partagée.

C’est cette réalité partagée qui a contribué au développement dans ma pratique, de l’oeuvre in situ conçu pour un lieu spécifique tel un paysage ou un jardin. Il s’agit d’élaborer un dialogue , des connexions inédites, inattendues en travaillant sur l’histoire de l’ environnement choisi, les usagers du lieu , les habitants et les visiteurs par une proposition sensible et ouverte qui ne s’érige plus comme un élément imposé , posé là mais une proposition , une invitation ou un partage.

L’oeuvre in situ, installation ou environnement , si elle ne vit ,avant tout , que par et pour l’espace dans laquelle elle est contenue, peut néanmoins avoir sa propre existence et devenir « exportable » ailleurs vers un « non site » comme le définissait Robert Smithson. L’un n’empêche pas l’autre et n’enlève rien à la spécificité de la proposition. Quand au lieu , l’espace paysagé par l’homme qu’il soit vaste ou infini, ou limité et clos il offre les mêmes possibilités pour l’artiste qui sait faire remonter des profondeurs les traces mémorielles , l’histoire personnelle et l’histoire commune dans une oeuvre inédite s’adressant à tous. Abolir les frontières, faire disparaitre les limites imposées, s’affranchir des règles qui régissent l’espace privé pour offrir à tous une toute autre vision du monde à la fois plus intime et plus commune à tous.

Le jardin de toute origine se veut avant tout un espace clos, ou du moins circonscrit, dans lequel la main de l’homme fait se rencontrer le monde naturel, voir sauvage et la civilisation. En milieu urbain cet assertion est encore plus vraie car en faisant entrer la nature dans un espace culturel éloigné du monde rural l’homme orchestre une rencontre inopinée voir improbable.

A travers le parcours des jardins, l’espace paysagé est investi d’une manière autre et singulière .
D’habitude hermétique à tout ce qui se trouve à l’extérieur , l’espace du jardin ouvert d’une part à l’artiste, d’autre part  à un public élargi, se mue en un«autre espace», totalement ou partiellement différent, une sorte d’hétéroptopie dont Michel Foucault nommerait « absolument différent » qu’ils soient initiatiques, transgressifs ou stimulants. Un espace autre dont on se saisit, avec la possibilité d’une appropriation, certes jamais définitive, parce que propre à chacun, mais évolutive et déclinable aussi loin que peuvent aller l’imagination et la sensibilité. S’approprier n’est ici pas à comprendre dans le sens de posséder définitivement mais temporairement dans l’espace temps pour peut-être le garder en mémoire de manière pérenne . Un trésors dans lequel on peut puiser pour réactiver des sensations , des réminiscences primitives dont chaque être humain garde en lui secrètement ; le désir d’avoir un lieu qui prenne tel sens par moi et pour moi, c’est ainsi l’habiter à la manière d’un résident qui reste de passage et peut revisiter ce qu’il habite. En décloisonnant l’espace privé de l’espace public et en proposant une oeuvre in situ , l’artiste rend possible ce qui ne peut l’être ailleurs , fait cohabiter des réalités parfois incompatibles ou ayant des sens complètement différents , et donne la possibilité de penser autrement.

Karinka Szabo-Detchart

  • Facebook