CONVERSATION IN HYPHE 

"FOREST" EXHIBITION, THE GLACIERES OF THE SUBURBAN - G5 - BORDEAUX

April June
  2019
 

.

The time has come for us disoriented humans, inhabitants of a sclerotic and quite foggy world to look differently at the world around us, to listen more attentively to the murmur of nature and to go guided by its lament "to walk in the sea. forest ”in the words of Janine M.Benyus. 

This other society in its own right, denied, misunderstood or ignored, turns out to be fundamental and promising for all. To experience the undergrowth, to observe under the wood to better understand life and make visible the invisible, this other hyperconnected territory where everything makes sense, such is the common thread of this project. 

In this device, I do not give a too subjective and sensitive vision of the forest in order to avoid giving an account of a dreamed world, sublimated, enchanted, simple projection or simulacrum without real substance. Rather, I start from the Idea, being less concerned with the appearance of things than with their appearance, with what they intrinsically are. By showing nature's modus operandi, I create an environment conducive to experience. The visitor thus leaves in, and under the forest to penetrate into the other territory, to explore the invisible, internal and deep part of this secret world to better understand its functioning, and in doing so, to reconnect to the world and to itself. He experiences this forest universe which works not only by air but also and above all by underground, essential space most developed physically. Recent research proves that trees and other plants but also different living organisms such as fungi, insects or bacteria are connected to each other by a complex system whose transmission takes place by chemical or electrical means. The fungi actively participate in this network, according to the same principle as the fiber optic internet, by developing a filamentous system, called a hypha, which ensures continuity in the event of a break. A single mushroom can connect several forests. This activity called "WOOD WIDE WEB" represents a canvas imperceptible to the naked eye and elusive by its size.  

The different structures or works linked to each other, by a physical or visual link, account for these meanders, these underground connections which make us apprehend the force of the cycle of life, of its entropic, unavoidable and immutable character.
They form a set which shows "impermanence" and the continuous transformation of everything, in this "fluid environment" conducive to an interaction between all living organisms whether they are on, or, underground. A smooth space, “Formal” according to Deleuze's definition without form, subject, or well-defined object, but populated by forces and flows. A moving universe, without anchoring or limit, made of substances, which according to Anne-Marie Mol, “flow, mix, transform, and sometimes solidify into more or less ephemeral forms which can dissolve or reform without provided that the continuity of the process is not interrupted. ". Each line is a flow and each living organism a tangle of lines. Interrupting the connection can be fatal because according to Tim Ingold life is not contained within the absolute limits of fixed forms, just as there is no absolute character of the limit between organism and environment.
 

To penetrate under the wood, it is here to contemplate the ceiling of the invisible and infinite world, to rise towards the vegetable kingdom as one contemplates the vault of an decorated grotto, or that of a Gothic cathedral with the celestial scenes pacifying or threatening. It is the start of a multiple connection conducive to a hybrid communication which takes account of a complex ecosystem where three universes meet the animal, the plant and the fungal kingdom. It is to understand that each protagonist participates in the life of the other through a very elaborate system of links and mutual aid. The forest has a lot to teach us from a societal and ecological point of view. Everything works in symbiosis and everything recycles there, a chain of possibilities which man would have every interest in observing very closely by adopting these operating modes.

 

This biomimetic artistic environment reveals this vast network where nothing is missing, where everything has its utility and its function. In these little-known bowels, there is no gratuitous sobriety, but “an artistic and architectural construction” according to Karl Blossfeldt, skilfully orchestrated which under exuberant and sometimes ornamental airs, produces only utilitarian forms but extremely accomplished artistically. The complexity, resulting from a primitive energy, obeys an internal, mobile, and very reactive logic.  

Going into a forest environment or its artistic avatar, under the crown, or under the wood, in this "open" universe without contour or line separating the sky from the earth, without limit between the gaseous and the solid is to interact with it . Act today essential to understand what connects us to the world in which we live and to stop the systematic massacre perpetrated by industrial activities against nature.  

Karinka Szabo-Detchart.

CONVERSATION EN HYPHE 

EXPOSITION « FORÊT » , LES GLACIÈRES DE LA BANLIEUE - G5 - BORDEAUX

Avril/juin  2019
 

.

L’heure est venue pour nous humains désorientés, habitants d’un monde sclérosé et passablement embrumé de regarder autrement le monde qui nous entoure, d’écouter plus attentivement le murmure de la nature et d’aller guidé par sa complainte « marcher dans la forêt » selon l’expression de Janine M.Benyus . 

Cette autre société à part entière, niée, méconnue ou ignorée, se révèle être fondamentale et porteuse d’avenir pour tous. Faire l’expérience du sous-bois, observer sous le bois pour mieux comprendre la vie et rendre visible l’invisible, cet autre territoire hyper-connecté où tout fait sens, tel sera le fil conducteur de ce projet. 

Dans ce dispositif, je ne donne pas une vision trop subjective et sensible de la forêt afin d’ éviter de rendre compte d’un monde rêvé, sublimé, enchanté, simple projection ou simulacre sans sub- stance réelle. Je pars plutôt de l’Idée en me préoccupant moins de l’apparence des choses que de leur apparition, de ce qu’elles sont intrinsèquement. En montrant les modes opératoires de la nature je créé un Environnement propice à l’expérience. Le visiteur part ainsi dans , et sous la forêt pour pénétrer dans l’autre territoire , explorer la partie invisible, interne et profonde de ce monde secret pour mieux comprendre son fonctionnement ,et se faisant, se reconnecter au monde et à lui même . Il fait l’expérience de cet univers forestier qui ne fonctionne pas seulement par voie aérienne mais aussi et surtout par voie souterraine, espace essentiel le plus développé physiquement. De récentes recherches prouvent que les arbres et autres végétaux mais également les différents organismes vivants comme les champignons, les insectes ou les bactéries sont connectés entre eux par un système complexe dont la transmission s’opère par voix chimique ou électrique. Les champignons participent activement à ce réseau, selon le même principe qu’internet par fibre optique, en développant un système filamenteux, appelé hyphe qui as- sure la continuité en cas de rupture. Un seul champignon peut mettre en relation plusieurs forêts. Cette activité appelée « WOOD WIDE WEB » représente une toile imperceptible à l’oeil nu et insaisissable par sa taille. 

Les différentes structures ou oeuvres reliées entre elles, par un lien physique ou visuel, rendent compte de ces méandres, de ces connexions souterraines qui nous font appréhender la force du cycle de la vie, de son caractère entropique, incontournable et immuable.
Elles forment un ensemble qui montrent « l’impermanence » et la transformation continue de toute chose, dans cet « environnement fluide » propice à une interaction entre tous les organismes vivants qu’il soient sur, ou, sous terre. Un espace lisse, « Aformel » selon la définition de Deleuze sans forme , ni sujet, ni objet bien défini, mais peuplé de forces et de flux. Un univers mouvant, sans ancrage ni limite, fait de substances , qui selon Anne-Marie Mol , « s’écoulent, se mélangent, se transforment, et se solidifient parfois en des formes plus ou moins éphémères qui peuvent se dissoudre ou se reformer sans pour autant que la continuité du processus ne soit interrompue. ». Chaque ligne est un flux et chaque organisme vivant un enchevêtrement de ligne. Interrompre la connexion peut être fatale car selon Tim Ingold la vie n’est pas contenue dans les limites absolues de formes fixes de même qu’il n’y a pas de caractère absolue de la limite entre organisme et environnement. 

Pénétrer sous le bois, c’est ici contempler le plafond du monde invisible et infini, s’élever vers le règne végétal comme on contemple la voute d’une grotte ornée, ou celle d’une cathédrale gothique aux scènes célestes pacificatrices ou menaçantes. C’est le départ d’une connexion multiple propice à une communication hybride qui rend compte d’un écosystème complexe ou se rencontre trois univers l’animal, le végétal et le règne fongique. C’est comprendre que chaque protagoniste participe à la vie de l’autre par un système très élaboré de liens et d’entraide. La forêt a beaucoup à nous apprendre d’un point de vue sociétale et écologique. Tout y travaille en symbiose et tout s’y recycle, une chaine des possibles dont l’homme aurait tout intérêt à observer de très près en adoptant ces modes opératoires.

 

Cette environnement artistique biomimétique révèle ce vaste réseau où rien ne manque, où tout a son utilité et sa fonction. Dans ces entrailles méconnues, point de sobriété gratuite, mais « une construction artistique et architecturale » selon Karl Blossfeldt, savamment orchestrée qui sous des airs exubérants et parfois ornementaux, ne produit que des formes utilitaires mais au combien aboutie sur le plan artistique. La complexité, issue, d’une énergie primitive, obéit à une logique interne, mobile, et très réactive. 

Aller dans un environnement forestier ou son avatar artistique , sous le houppier, ou sous le bois , dans cet univers « ouvert » sans contour ni ligne séparant le ciel de la terre , sans limite entre le gazeux et le solide c’est interagir avec lui. Acte aujourd’hui indispensable pour comprendre ce qui nous relie au monde dans lequel nous vivons et enrayer le massacre systématique perpétré par les activités industrielles à l’encontre de la nature.  

Karinka Szabo-Detchart.

copyright © Karinka Szabo-Detchart tous droits réservés 2020