"  Alone on an islet lost in a Slavic ocean ” 

(Environment, natural objects, straw, wood, hay, sandstone, wool, plant liana, dried flowers, rope, led, video ...) 2021.  

 

Enter the dead end of Agen, a narrow lane lined with majestic wild pear trees, 

it's  get out of the din  of the city to take refuge in a timeless enclave.  

 

Entering Mariann Szoke's building with its dark and narrow corridor is like stepping into a “narniesque” wardrobe to emerge in the light of a verdant, luxuriant and deeply soothing oasis, another world whose origin is anchored further east on the banks of the Danube, in Hungary to be precise.

 

This garden, in a courtyard emerging from the concrete, offers itself as a space to oneself, a place between oneself,  which allows us to escape from everyday life. Similar to  gardens of the Far East, it constitutes an enclosed world, a courtyard between four walls, a singular, protected, isolated microcosm that envelops us in a protective energy.The place seems to evoke the soul of the Magyars, who faced with their complexity, their fear of disappearance and their difficulty in extricating themselves from it, often take refuge in solitude to withdraw into themselves. * 

My first idea was to create a work  environment which would prolong and amplify the feeling of "  vegetable break ”conducive to reflection, conversation, creation and knowledge.

The second track was to go back to the source of this space, by plunging back into history, that of the courtyard.  which was once a washhouse,  and that of my  origins  Hungarian,  common to my host. 

The work is offered as an immersive space, where artificiality tries to disappear in favor of the natural to allow everyone to  to "rewild". For the "industrial" man that we have become and who has lost the meaning of life by cutting himself off from the heart of things, it is a question of realizing that "  the living is always the central dimension of all existence ”*.

A truly  staging is orchestrated so as to get closer to the natural environment. The  straw, hay, and various species of dried meadow plants replace the ambient mineral. The space evokes the great plain of Hungary, the Puszta,  and its related pastoral and equestrian activities; the presence of sound, visual and olfactory stimuli makes it possible to project oneself into this particular universe and to consider actions. This immersive, complex "garden work"  enveloping, addresses all the senses by associating the frame, water, rocks, plants, animals, marrying the living with the inert, the ephemeral and the permanent, the fixed and the moving ... The past to present. A world in the world, in the privacy of each one where we enter in an intrusive way to look beyond the walls and decompartmentalize the world. The space is transformed, the gaze too. The consciousness of the world is changing. The walls are forgotten, they are no longer an obstacle, they certainly conceal, but reveal everything at the same time. They orient and mask the gaze, bringing new perceptions oscillating between opening and closing. The apparently closed space seems to open up more to come into contact with the light, the stars, the sky, the vegetation, the animals and the ambient air.

 

  Everyone changes paradigm to reconnect with the origins and the primitive that lies dormant in us, to find authentic gestures, sometimes forgotten or unrecognized know-how,  to better envision the future, reinvent it or reorient it in the era of the Anthropocene, the advent of antispeciesism and the probable collapse of our world.

The courtyard becomes a place of socialization, a container that makes content available. It allows us to get closer to the living, inclined to a certain temporality, and to activate a kind of deceleration which forces us to rethink our relationship to time. We are  forced to look at the world differently, in a slower way in order to grasp in a minute observation all its complexity and its value. This environment forces us, for a while, to lose the memory of a frenzied society and to deeply feel the rhythm of nature.

A multitude of objects are presented in this "re-savaged" universe. All of them show an economy of means in the choice of materials and in their production. wool. Natural materials or objects such  moss, sheep's wool, bones, seeds, bugs, lichen, or manufactured or man-made items such as wire mesh, glass balls or the like, are swaddled in lianas  of Muehlenbeckia, a generally very invasive plant. This confinement, or "interference"  goes beyond imprisonment to provide protection and  preciousness to the packaged element. This action reveals, in this coming and going between the shown and the hidden,  the importance and the need for a fusion between all the constituents of living things to better envisage the future. The sculptural object becomes a catalyst, it presents itself as an enigmatic offering which sets in motion the thought and the doing. Art is here to be understood as  Joseph Beuys considered it "  each human being has a vocation to create, hand in hand with his fellows, the conditions for a world overflowing with life ”

 

Karinka Szabo-Detchart

 

 

 

   

  •   Journey to the land of the Gypsies: Unknown Hungary, Victor Tissot (speaks of Joseph Eôtvôs who would have exclaimed 30 years before the creation of the Austro-Hungarian empire "the Magyar race ... is like an islet lost in the middle of the Slavic ocean ")
    *
      Hungary, The anguish of disappearance, Françoise Pons, 2016.
    *
      Rewild yourselves, Andréas Weber and Hildegard Kurt manifesto, 2021
    *
      The Gift, Creativity and the Artist in the Modern World, Vintage, 2007 (concept which is not so far removed from that defended by Lewis Hyde *, namely the essential “circulation of the gift”.)

«  Seule sur un îlot perdu dans un océan slave » 

(Environnement , objets naturels, paille, bois ,foin, grès, laine, liane végétale, fleurs séchées, corde, led, vidéo...) 2021. 

 

Pénétrer dans l’impasse d ’Agen, étroite ruelle bordée de majestueux poiriers sauvages , 

c’est  s’extraire du vacarme  de la ville pour se réfugier dans une enclave hors du temps. 

 

Pénétrer dans l’immeuble de Mariann Szoke au couloir sombre et étroit , c’est comme s’engouffrer dans une armoire « narniesque » pour ressortir dans la lumière d’un oasis verdoyant , luxuriant et profondément apaisant, un autre monde dont l’origine s’ancre plus à l’est sur les rives du Danube, en Hongrie précisément.

 

Ce jardin, dans une cour surgissant du béton s’offre comme un espace à soi, un entre soi,  qui nous permet de s’extraire du quotidien. Similaire aux  jardins d’extrême orient, il constitue un monde clos, une cour entre quatre murs, un microcosme singulier, protégé, isolé qui nous enveloppe d’une énergie protectrice.Le lieu semble évoquer l’âme des magyars, qui face à leur complexité ,leur angoisse de la disparition et leur difficulté à s’en extraire, se réfugient souvent dans la solitude pour se replier sur eux- même.* 

Ma première idée a été de créer une oeuvre  environnementale qui prolongerait et amplifierait le sentiment de «  pause végétale » propice à la réflexion, la conversation, la création et la connaissance.

La seconde piste a été de remonter à la source de cette espace, en se replongeant dans l’histoire , celle de la cour  qui était jadis un lavoir,  et celle de mes  origines  hongroises,  communes à mon hôte. 

L’oeuvre s’offre comme un espace immersif, ou l’artificialité tente de disparaitre au profit du naturel pour permettre à chacun de  se « réensauvager » . Il s’agit pour l’homme « industriel » que nous sommes devenu et qui a perdu le sens de la vie en se coupant du coeur des choses, de prendre conscience que «  le vivant est toujours la dimension centrale de toute existence »*.

Une véritable  mise en scène est orchestrée de manière à se rapprocher du milieu naturel. La  paille, le foin, et différentes espèces végétales de prairie séchées se substituent au minéral ambiant . L’espace évoque la grande plaine de Hongrie, la Puszta,  et ses activités connexes, pastorale et équestres; la présence de stimuli sonores, visuels, olfactifs permet de se projeter dans cet univers particulier et d’envisager des actions. Cette « oeuvre jardin » immersive, complexe,  enveloppante, s’adresse à tous les sens en associant le bâti, à l’eau, aux rochers, aux végétaux, aux animaux, mariant le vivant à l’inerte, l’éphémère et le permanent, le fixe et le mouvant…Le passé au présent. Un monde dans le monde, dans l’intimité de chacun où l’on pénètre de manière intrusive pour regarder au delà des murs et décloisonner le monde. L’espace se transforme , le regard aussi . La conscience du monde change. Les murs s’oublient , ils ne sont plus un obstacle, ils dissimulent certes, mais révèlent tout à la fois. Ils orientent et masquent le regard amenant de nouvelles perceptions oscillant entre ouverture et fermeture. L’espace à priori clos semble s’ouvrir davantage pour rentrer en contact avec la lumière, les étoiles, le ciel, la végétation, les animaux et l ’air ambiant.

 

 Chacun change de paradigme pour renouer avec les origines et le primitif qui sommeille en nous, pour retrouver les gestes authentiques, parfois des savoir faire oubliés ou méconnus,  pour mieux envisager l’avenir, le réinventer ou le réorienter à l’ère de l’anthropocène, de l’avènement de l’antispécisme et du probable effondrement de notre monde.

La cour devient un lieu de sociabilisation, un contenant qui met à disposition du contenu. Elle permet de se rapprocher du vivant, enclin à une certaine temporalité, et d’ activer une sorte de décélération qui nous oblige à repenser notre rapport au temps . On est  forcé de regarder autrement le monde , d’une façon plus lente pour en saisir dans une observation minutieuse toute sa complexité et sa valeur. Cet environnement nous oblige, un laps de temps à perdre la mémoire d’une société effrénée et à ressentir profondément le rythme de la nature.

Une multitude d’objets sont présentés dans cet univers « réensauvagé». Tous font preuve d’une économie de moyens dans le choix des matériaux et dans leur production .Ils résultent d’un travail ancestral et traditionnel que l’on peut retrouver dans certains métiers d’art comme la vannerie, le tissage ou le travail de la laine. Des matériaux ou objets naturels tels  la mousse , la laine de brebis, des os, des graines, des bogues, du lichen, ou des éléments manufacturés ou façonnés par l’homme tel du fil grillagé, des boules de verres ou autre, sont emmaillotés dans des lianes  de Muehlenbeckia , plante généralement très envahissante. Cet enfermement , ou « parasitage »  va au delà de l’emprisonnement pour offrir protection et  préciosité à l’élément empaqueté. Cet action révèle, dans ce va et vient entre le montré et le caché,  l’importance et la nécessité d’une fusion entre tous les constituants du vivant pour mieux envisager l’avenir. L’objet sculptural devient un catalyseur, il se présente tel une offrande énigmatique qui met en mouvement la pensée et le faire . L’art est ici à comprendre comme  Joseph Beuys l’a envisagé «  chaque être humain a vocation à créer, main dans la main avec ses congénères, les conditions d’un monde débordant de vie »

 

Karinka Szabo-Detchart

 

 

 

    

  •  Voyage au pays des Tziganes: La Hongrie inconnue, Victor Tissot ( parle de Joseph Eôtvôs qui se serait écrié 30 ans avant la création de l’empire austro-hongrois « la race magyare... est comme un îlot perdu au milieu de l’océan slave »)
    *  Hongrie, L’angoisse de la disparition, Françoise Pons , 2016.
    *  Réensauvagez-vous , manifeste Andréas Weber et Hildegard Kurt, 2021
    *  The Gift, Creativity and the Artist in the Modern World, Vintage, 2007( concept qui n’est pas si éloigné de celui défendu par Lewis Hyde* à savoir l’indispensable « circulation du don ».) 

  • Facebook